Why is there so much home schooling?

Options

Replies

• SherryTeach
    SherryTeach Posts: 2,836 Member
    Options
    Just to add an alternative point of view here. I have been a public school teacher for 38 years. I have taught high school and middle school, grades 7-12. I have taught English, a Reading, French, Journalism, Study Skills. I have had gifted kids, honors kids, remedial kids, special needs kids. Yes, I can meet the needs of 12-old ADHD boys. I have sponsored reading clubs, knitting clubs, creative writing clubs. I've put on school dances, published the yearbook, made crepes in the home ec room with two dozen kids. I've driven a van full of kids to workshops and taken 35 kids to Paris. My colleagues and I are passionate, well-trained and competent.

Among many reasons to attend public school is the opportunity to learn from many different teachers who are trained and passionate about that subject. That is what I wanted my own daughters to have. They are products of public education and they are now well-educated, successful adults.

As far as safety, you are safer in a public school than almost anywhere, certainly safer than you are in a vehicle on a public road.

Don't believe all the fear-mongering about the dismal state of public education. Come and visit, any time.
  • xmysterix
    xmysterix Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    We'll probably "home school" for part or all of 1st grade, but that's because we plan on spending 3-4 months in a caravan/RV driving around Oz, then will be moving to the US (I'm an American living in Australia). After that, we'll be carefully selecting our new home to be in a good, progressive public district...but we're lucky to be able to do that.

Here, somewhere around 1% of kids are being home schooled, most "illegally," which means they haven't registered with the education ministry. Non-govt (private, catholic, etc) schools are huge here. Over a third of kids attending schools are in non-govt schools.
  • Mcgrawhaha