The more jogging I do the worse I become at it!

Options
Hi everyone, got a bit of a problem and just after some helpful tips or advice...

I've been training to join the RAF for the last 6 months so I've been running 1.5 miles on the treadmill and also running outdoors round a local park. I've noticed a big difference in my strength (when I first started I couldn't even do 1 press up and I can do 14 now!) but my cardio fitness hasn't improved at all, if anything it's got worse!

My best time on the treadmill was 14:54 mins, it was the first attempt I ever did at it and I never managed to beat that time. I'd go to the gym 3 times a week to attempt it and never managed to improve. The same with my outdoor running - I managed 3.3 miles at a steady jog without stopping near the start of my training, and since then have barely managed to do a mile!

My friends have said it's all in your head, you've got to think positive and I do try to, but it's difficult when every time I go out I come home feeling rubbish about myself.

For some unknown reason I managed to pass all the fitness tests, which I thought would boost my confidence but it doesn't make a difference when I'm running. It doesn't matter what I think in my head, as soon as that barrier comes I mostly stop, sometimes I run past it but flag further down the road and stop. Then I get really cross with myself and that just makes it all worse!

I start basic training in 2 weeks and I'm dreading the outdoor runs (3, 4 and 5 miles). Even if I could sustain a jog for a long period of time it's ridiculously slow - I could walk faster!

Help!

Replies

• stt43
    stt43 Posts: 487
    Options
    Perhaps you are running too regularly and not giving your body time to recover? I can't run or jog more than a couple of times per week.
  • mheebner
    mheebner Posts: 285 Member
    Options