help/advise for you yoga gurus

Options
I just started to exercise. Today, I put on my schedule that I would do a fitness yoga class. I have taken yoga classes before, but I am by no means a pro...or anything close to being skilled. Okay, I have taken 5 yoga classes in my life. My gut says skip it and do the treadmill instead, but I don't want to be so easily intimidated. But I fear I will be embarassed at my lack of ability in a room full of sculpted bodies that know the form and can anticipate every move.

Replies

• Escape_Artist
    Escape_Artist Posts: 1,155 Member
    Options
    Actually, in most yoga classes you will have anything from newbs, novices and experts. We are all there to have fun, relax and learn. There is no reason to feel stressed or embarassed. Besides, those ''sculpted bodies that know the form and can anticipate every move'' started somewhere, same place as you now. They weren't born knowing the movements :wink:

If you don't feel comfortable, I suggest you try with Yogadownload.com at home. Plenty of free classes so you can learn the basic moves

Good luck :flowerforyou:
  • bluelena
    bluelena Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    You'd be surprised. People of all shapes, sizes, and fitness levels take yoga classes. And the sculpted, bendy ones? They had to start somewhere. Also, they're more focused on what they're doing than what you're doing anyway. I'd try it, and if you don't like it, then don't go back.
  • maryjaquiss
    maryjaquiss Posts: 307 Member
    Options