Strong Lifts 5 x 5 program for the beginner :)

Options

Replies

• MicheleWE
    MicheleWE Posts: 179 Member
    Options
    bump
  • JTick
    JTick Posts: 2,131 Member
    Options
    Bump, this fab, even though I've been doing this program a couple months, this clears up some confusion!
  • prosperkat
    prosperkat Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    Any concern with starting this with dumbbells instead of barbell? I am a noob, have a good set of dumbbell weights but no barbell or bench. :embarassed:
  • dragonmom14
    Options
    bump
  • mockchoc
    mockchoc Posts: 6,573 Member
    Options
    Thanks!
  • JDHINAZ
    JDHINAZ Posts: 641 Member
    Options
    Bump.
  • grinch031
    grinch031 Posts: 1,679
    Options
    I've been doing Strong Lifts since early June. I also bought both of Rippetoe's books (Starting Strength and Practical Programming). While I think both of these programs, or any barbell program for that matter is likely the most efficient way to gain maximal strength in a beginner, I do not think this program is for everyone.

To demonstrate my point, the Starting Strength book is over 200 pages, and 90% of this book is instruction on how to properly do 5 lifts. I think the squat instruction is 60 pages by itself.

It is very easy to get injured doing barbell lifts because there are so many things you need to be concerned with that could go wrong during the motion. I had to stop doing squats about a month and a half ago because of tendonitus in my knee. Also I had extreme shoulder pain due to lack of flexibility during the lift, and also hurt my upper back for about 2 days.

In deadlifts, I pulled my lower back slightly on two different occasions but I was only hurting for 2 days there as well.