For those of you who swim...

modernmom
modernmom Posts: 1 Member
edited September 22 in Fitness and Exercise
what's your advice on getting started? Do I count laps? Or count time in the pool?

Does one stroke burn more calories than others? I need to jump-start my cardio, but I have a bum-knee at the moment, so swimming seems to be the most logical choice.

Replies

• Ge0rgiana
    Ge0rgiana Posts: 1,649 Member
    I have no fantastic strategy. I simply try to stay moving the entire time I'm in the pool, and I time it. I then log it as "Swimming, General". If I decide I'm going to do laps the whole time, I time it and log it as laps and whatever effort level I thought I was doing.

I, too, have a bum knee. I wish I could swim more. Just getting too cold. The backbone of my exercise routine is walking.
  • elainecroft
    elainecroft Posts: 595 Member
    I'm not a swimming expert by any means, but I can tell you what works for me. I'll get really into swimming for a month or two at a time, and then not swim for a while and have to get back into it. For me it takes a couple of days of practice to get used to the water. So I will set myself a time goal and see how many laps I can do. Then I'll evaluate how tired I am to see if I should be swimming faster/longer. I just log my exercise using swimming-moderate I think and inputting the time.

I also like to do a combination of sprint laps and sustained swims using different strokes- for example I'll do 5 laps of freestyle and then a 2 lap sprint of backstroke. If you are up for it (and there aren't a lot of people in the pool to annoy!), you can interject laps of the butterfly throughout your workout to get your heart rate up!
  • try water aerobics also
  • jujecarp
    jujecarp Posts: 7 Member