Please share your number one strategy for maintaining

Options
Hi Everyone!

I am within 4.5 pounds of my weight loss goal. I am proud of myself for eating a wide variety of foods in moderation, logging daily, moving my body more, and keeping an open, positive mind about this journey.

I have the losing weight part down, but I am no expert at maintaining. So, I am curious what your #1 strategy for maintenance has been. I know is will vary from person to person, but I would love to gather lots of great ideas and then try them out to see what works for me. Thank you for sharing!

Teresa

Replies

• poohpoohpeapod
    poohpoohpeapod Posts: 776 Member
    Options
    I hve lost 120lbs, although not quite finished, I have been not actively losing for a bit. I think exercise is very important and consistency, do not let a treat turn into a day of bad eating. It is a slippery slope in my opinion.
  • janer4jc
    janer4jc Posts: 238 Member
    Options
    I do better when I drink plenty of water throughout the day.
  • nxd10
    nxd10 Posts: 4,570 Member
    Options
    Logging. Everything. Accurately.

And choosing food you like eating.
  • tbresina
    tbresina Posts: 558 Member
    Options
    I struggle at maintaining, it was so much easier when I was actively losing, now its creeping back on slowly-hope we get some good advice!
  • eating4me
    eating4me Posts: 239 Member
    Options
    I was hesitant to go on maintenance, but I continued to lose on maintenance, and had to increase my calories, so I wouldn't lose too much. Logging accurately & honestly is most important. That, and maintaining a consistent workout schedule. I've had no problems whatsoever maintaining, and I even take a break with logging on Sundays & all holidays (and I'm sure I over eat on those days). It's not as scary as it seems....you can do it!
  • themedalist
    themedalist Posts: 3,212 Member
    Options