Am I working out for the wrong reasons?

So when I was in high school I was well liked never mr popular jock type. but was well liked even though I was shy and in special education I was normal never really got girls. Anyway I graduated high school in 2011 and I started working out in 2012 just started lifting weights this year and my transformation should be done June or July.

Well when I started this I did it because I wanted to impress people I went to high school with through Facebook and impress girls who would never talk to me in high school since I'm friends with a lot of people through HS.

Is there anything wrong with that doing it to impress people? I've made a complete 180 turn around with my health and my looks and studies.

But is it wrong to do it to impress others?

I'm a 20 year old guy and I was wanted to be the guy that was jacked with rippling muscles and that got any girl he wanted.

I

Replies

• DavPul
    DavPul Posts: 61,406 Member
    philosophy class is <
    that way. ethics is
    > over there

just work out
  • jlapey
    jlapey Posts: 1,850 Member
    There are no "wrong" reasons. I have mine, you have yours and others will have theirs. Reasons are just reasons.
  • mumblemagic
    mumblemagic Posts: 1,090 Member
    Meh, nothing wrong with wanting to impress people - everyone does. Also nothing wrong with seeing something you think is awesome (the ripped guy with all the girls), wanting it, and working hard to get it. If anything that's a good thing, right? As long as you don't take it too far - don't let your self esteem rely on the approval of others, and don't spend so much time trying to get one up on your HS peers that you miss out on living your own life.

Do make sure you mentally say "in your face" every time you see someone from HS that's doing worse than you. It's a great feeling, being smug. Just don't let people see otherwise they will think you're an *kitten* :tongue:
  • GGDaddy
    GGDaddy Posts: 289 Member