So frustrated with my famliy

Options
I have been doing well for the past 2 months and I'm down 14 lbs. A month ago my mother in law comes back from visiting family. Ever since, any of the healthy food that I buy she feels that she needs to eat or make it for the whole family. I spent $40 yesterday so I could have salad stuff for the next week or so, but 75% of it is gone now. I buy wraps so I'm not eating white bread, but she eats them all. I buy breakfast shakes for myself and she gives them to my kids. And then she turns around and makes 3 batches of brownies and 3 trays of cookies. So after she eats all the healthy stuff that I buy, then I have to eat all the fried, fattening and salty foods that she makes. I'm just about to the point that I want to give up. I wish I knew what to do......:frown:

Replies

• ladynocturne
    ladynocturne Posts: 865 Member
    Options
    You should probably communicate and tell her how you feel.

I'm sure you can work something out as to either ask her to pitch in with money so when you go shopping, you get extra for her, or politely ask her to go shopping for herself and not eat what you've purchased. Not sure what the situation is that your MIL is living with you, but I'm sure that it is complicated.

Also you don't have to eat anything she cooks, you can literally go to the grocery store or pick up some moderately healthy take out. A lot of restaurants have salads and wraps with low cal dressings available.
  • Sreneesa
    Sreneesa Posts: 1,170 Member
    Options
    I would communicate with her and let her and the entire family know what you are trying to accomplish and how you would appreciate it if they could be more supportive....ofcourse be very tactful in your presentation.