That College Food Stereotype

Options
Hi! I'm new to MFP, and a college student struggling to find healthy choices around campus. Everything that would normally be healthy (think sautéed veggies or eggs) is SLATHERED in oil... Total bummer! We're only allowed mini-fridges in our room and storage space is limited, so grocery shopping is somewhat limited as well. Anyone have any tips or good dorm staple foods that they stick to (or sticked to) when they are (or were) in college?

Replies

• inside_lap
    inside_lap Posts: 738 Member
    Options
    Bagged salads, grilled chicken, and fruit.
  • pusheen12
    pusheen12 Posts: 192 Member
    Options
    Oswala smoothies, grilled salmon/chicken, hard boiled eggs. fresh fruit and raw vegetables, bagels, plain pasta, skim milk, bagels, steel cut oatmeal from Jamba Juice, Trader Joe's salads and nuts
  • Dandman1990
    Dandman1990 Posts: 196 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm new to MFP, and a college student struggling to find healthy choices around campus. Everything that would normally be healthy (think sautéed veggies or eggs) is SLATHERED in oil... Total bummer! We're only allowed mini-fridges in our room and storage space is limited, so grocery shopping is somewhat limited as well. Anyone have any tips or good dorm staple foods that they stick to (or sticked to) when they are (or were) in college?

Heya. I'm in university too and just have a mini fridge that I use but we have a shared freezer that stuff can be put in. If you have the time to cook then pots of bolognese or making big portions of pasta or casseroles or anything else could be a good idea then freezing it.
    If not you could do what I do and just walk to the supermarket and buy stuff as you need it. Adds a little bit of extra exercise with all the walking anyways. xD
  • nadnoda586
    nadnoda586 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    uhh me too , ever since i went to college , all of what i eat is junk and sweets