Cheaper version of a FitBit

Options
hey guys, I really really want a fit bit but I'm unable to afford one as i am a poor student lol can anyone tell if it there is anything that is similar but at a cheaper price?? I have a basic pedometer but I don't feel it gives a true reading of the calories I burn .. :/

Replies

• WalkingAlong
    WalkingAlong Posts: 4,926 Member
    Options
    There are Fitbits for $59 and Omron pedometers that do about the same without the web app and bluetooth for maybe $30. Maybe buy a used Fitbit? Though nothing gives you a 'true reading of the calories you burn'. It's all just estimates. Your best estimate is probably to log all your food and weight loss/gain for a month and back out your burn from that data.
  • Taratruex
    Taratruex Posts: 215 Member
    Options
    24 hour fitness is having a sale on bodymedia arm bands.They are typically 119.99 but i just picked one up for 24.99. Its 6 dollars per month (but you get the first 6 months free). I highly recommend it! Bodymedia.com
  • JBnyc99
    JBnyc99 Posts: 100 Member
    Options
    hey guys, I really really want a fit bit but I'm unable to afford one as i am a poor student lol can anyone tell if it there is anything that is similar but at a cheaper price?? I have a basic pedometer but I don't feel it gives a true reading of the calories I burn .. :/

In the past couple months, I've seen several used FitBit Ultras sell between $20-$40 on eBay. Prices may be even better now that Christmas is behind us.

FYI,...the "Ultra" is an older model, which has since been replaced by the "One". If cost remains your biggest concern, then find a used Ultra, rather than a cheap knock-off. Personally, I have both models, and I prefer the Ultra over the One.
  • MuseofSong
    MuseofSong Posts: 322 Member
    Options

If your money is tight, I'd go for the Fitbit Zip, unless you really want the sleep tracking and stairs / floor count feature.