Help with getting started while working the night shift

Options
I am a Cardiology/ICU nurse. I have worked nights for 4 years now. Night shift work is certainly what makes my life difficult. It puts a damper on my exercise plan as well as my eating.

Generally I work 3 or 4 nights a week, 13-14 hours at a time from 6:30pm to 7:30am (or 8 or 9 depending on patient load, acuity, etc..) We don't get regular breaks at all. (We are usually short handed and it is very hard to just pass off two or three high acuity patients for a half hour when everyone else's patient's are high acuity as well. It would be dangerous. So we often suck it up and don't take breaks. Please don't judge unless you have experience in this area...yes it sucks, but reality isn't ideology.) Generally we grab food and shove it down in between major events and charting. If I am lucky, I can take a full 15 minute break, and once in a blue moon I get a break twice a shift. So I have to stick with foods that are easy, quick, and I am trying to find foods that aren't boring. If I eat one more carrot stick I will throw in the fork and head for the doritos.

I also have a very busy life outside of work, so I am trying to make managing my health more of a focus instead of a side item.(my weight being a large part of that, but not all of it).

I have no idea how to fit in proper eating and find some semblance of regular exercise in the middle of work and family. Does anyone have any success stories as to how they have managed night shift and family and fit in a major lifestyle change?

Replies

• fannyfrost
    fannyfrost Posts: 756 Member
    Options
    I don't have this type of experience, but here are some suggestions:

protein bars - Cliff bars are good as well as Think Thin bars
    Apple slice and Peanut butter (you can slice the apples before hand and add lemon to keep from browning, just bring a little PB for dipping)