Lifters: Not real sure what to do now...

Options
I have been lifting for 7 months now. I lift 3x a week as well as spin 3x a week. I do chest and tri' s, back and bi' s, and legs and shoulders. The program is written to do 3 sets of 10 reps. I started that way but then listened to a trainer who told me about muscle confusion and how I should add another set, which I did. I've been doing 4 sets of each lift for about 20 weeks now. My issue is that I have a MS which makes working out a bit harder on me to begin with, so I'm now finding 4 sets of deadlifts at 150 lbs a little intense. Squats are starting to get rough too. My son thought that maybe 4 sets were too much and I should drop it back to 3 as it was written. My question is would dropping that extra set be a step backwards and interfere with weight loss or toning?

Replies

• micheleb15
    micheleb15 Posts: 1,418 Member
    Options
    I don't have any experience with MS, but listen to your body. 4 sets of 10 is a lot if you're lifting heavy. Maybe look into a program like 5/3/1 or 5x5 - both great progressive heavy lifting programs with less reps. Also, dropping a set is not going to do anything to harm your weight loss as long as your calories are in order.
  • msunat97
    msunat97 Posts: 511 Member
    Options
    I don't have any experience with MS, but you can change the qty of lifts & pace. Do you go lower reps for squats (as an example) & work them 2x a week...Listen to your body & experiment. Change the angle of your lifts or add some low weight isometrics to supplement the major lifts (Lateral Raises for shoulders or flys for chest).
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options