New Runner's Advice Anyone?

Options
I am new to running however I have committed to a half marathon on April 19th. Last October, I began running some and was up to 3 miles. I struggled with severe shin splints and inflammation in my right foot. I got fitted for new running shoes and took some time off for my foot to heal. I'm 14 1/2 weeks out from the race and sucessfully suffered through 2 miles last night. I know that things will get easier since I have 40 pounds to lose. I currently despise running but have heard that as my body adjusts to it, I will grow to love and appreciate it. Has anyone found this to be true? Does anyone have any advice? I downloaded the 13.1 Run Coach which seems to be a good app. I'm just worried I'm going to fail but I'm tired of being chunky and really want to find something I can love and appreciate.

Feel free to add me! I need a good support group! =)

Replies

• JUDDDing
    JUDDDing Posts: 1,367 Member
    Options
    Are you doing run/walk intervals?

I'd stick with those. As your fitness improves you can make your run intervals longer and your walk intervals shorter.

You don't need to fail. And unless you are pushing too hard - you should not despise running.

http://www.jeffgalloway.com/training/half-marathon-training/
  • ShawnaK82
    ShawnaK82 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I can not find it in me to want to run, but know that this could help with the last few pounds I need to loose.
  • roanokejoe49
    roanokejoe49 Posts: 820 Member
    Options
    Personally, I think this goal is a bit too lofty. Why not start with a 5 or 10k? From 0-13.1 miles in less than 8 months is a lot.
  • bobbijodmb
    bobbijodmb Posts: 463 Member
    Options
    I agree-- I would start with run/walk intervals!

I am doing my first half on April 6th and started training 8 weeks ago. I absolutely hated running but I have grown to appreciate it!