Real friends tell you if you are expanding?

Options
2»

Replies

• lilawolf
    lilawolf Posts: 1,690 Member
    Options
    I'm extremely grateful to my wife, for finally telling me I was getting fat (+40 lbs.).
    Quoting myself here to comment on those who don''t want to be told of their condition.

I was always slim and trim, until about the age of 56, when my wife made me realize I was moving toward obese.

Yep.....I had to buy larger clothes that fit.
    Yep.....My stamina at physical exertion was declining.
    Yep.....I saw the muffin top in the mirror.

I am a competent observer and analyst. Yet, while I saw the changes that indicated I was getting fat, I didn't "realize" that I wass getting fat. It took someone else to make me realize the reality.

Reality often sucks, especially when it is presented to you and you "objectively" realize the reality of what is presented.

If my boat is sinking, I want somebody to let me know so I can take corrective action, as I might not know it is sinking yet.
    If my eating behavior is going to impact my health and fitness, I want somebody to let me know that, as I may not know it.

My feelings are much less important to me than my perception of reality. If I don't yet know what reality is, I might make bad decisions.
    I wonder if (as has been suggested already) the difference lies between those who have always been overweight/obese, and those for whom the weight has crept on over the years after a long time at a healthy weight. Maybe for the latter group, being "fat" isn't something they associate with themselves, isn't something that has become part of their identity, so they don't have such an emotional reaction to it being pointed out. It's not personal.