Looking for advice on how to fuel during a full marathon

Options
Hello!

I will be doing my first full marathon in 44 days...and I am looking for some advice on carb loading the 2-3 days before the race and especially the best way to fuel during the race.

I have been running for many years on and off...for the past year and a half I really started to focus on running again. I have lost 37 lbs and I am almost to my goal weight of 145 lbs (30 years old female, 5'5", 153 lbs). I have done two half-marathons (in about 2 hours 25 min) and weekly I try to run between 20-35 miles. I am not a fast runner, more like slow and steady. I do not have a set time goal for the marathon, I just want to finish it, lol.

During long runs I typically don't use too much fuel besides water and maybe some Gatorade. I have tried a gel once but it made me very sick to my stomach so I am a little nervous to try it again. However, I know I will need to do something for the full marathon.

Can anyone tell me the best fuel plan to use for my first full marathon? I would greatly appreciate any advice to help me prepare for this huge event!!

Thank you!!!!

Replies

• RedBess
    RedBess Posts: 111 Member
    Options
    Hi!

I have only done two marathons so far and I don't really carb-load 2-3 days before race day, so I won't weigh in on that.