What are Good Foods in College?

Options
You know the Freshman 15? Well, for me it's the freshman 20, and I was a bit chubby to begin with. I want to drop 30 pounds (settling somewhere around 150 lbs), but I'm a broke college student surrounded by greasy, chocolatey goodness. Advice?

Replies

• summergirl212
    summergirl212 Posts: 91 Member
    Options
    I took advantage of the salad bar. We had a grill where they make hamburgers and you could always ask for grilled chicken so I did that when I needed protein. Scrambled eggs are good protein in the morning or choose a non-sugary cereal. I ate whole wheat bagels and light cream cheese which don't have much nutritional value but they aren't too bad in calories or fat. You can also get a sandwich and eat just the lunchmeat and cheese or open-faced so you have less carbs.

It's difficult to avoid the chicken strips, fries, and pizza but you will feel a lot better if you aren't eating that every day!
  • olivia_june
    olivia_june Posts: 111 Member
    Options
    Does your college have a meal plan or are you on your own for food?

If you have to buy your own, you can utilize the discount shelf at the store, in the breads and the veggies/fruits, some things are easy to freeze (onions, mushrooms, peppers) if you have access to a freezer (when I was in college my dorm was basically a mini house shared with 4 people). Eggs are relatively cheap. What kind of fridge/freezer space do you have? Do you have friends who would buy in bulk with you and share the cost/food?

Socialization -- You can buy low-calorie beer. At the bar (or a party) you can have something like vodka/water/shot of lime, it's like 30cal/vodka shot and I think that's the lowest calorie alcohol. Sh*tty eating -- have one piece of pizza instead of the whole thing. Drink lots of water.
  • olivia_june
    olivia_june Posts: 111 Member
    Options