New to weight training, what is a good starting point?

Options
I am starting weight training this week. I was always taught in college classes that to gain muscle you do less reps and more weight when lifting or using machines, and to lose fat and tone (which is what i want to do for my wedding in may) you do more reps with less weight. My main problem area is my arms (triceps and delts primarily) but my biceps could use work too. My dress is strapless so I want to tone a bit. I will be using the machines instead of free weights (personal preference) at LA fitness. What is a good starting weight/ how many reps should I do and how many sets to tone and reduce fat, NOT gain bulk. I don't want to bulk up, just tone up. Also, how many days a week should I do it is 2/3 enough for upper body? and should I do weight training before my cardio or after? I always thought it was before a cardio workout so that you didn't tire out. I am new to weight training, I have been active most of my life but I never really started a weight training program and stuck with it.

The one other question I have is regarding protein shakes. I currently have EAS protein its soy based and Its 20 grams of protein, I have the chocolate flavor. Should I drink a shake after every weight lifting workout?

Thanks for all of your help!

Replies

• SashleyA
    SashleyA Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    bump because I'm curious too. I do some weights stuff, but am not sure if I'm approaching it right.
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    I would recommend checking out stronglifts 5x5.

5 sets, 5 reps, all compound lifts.

ETA I just saw you said you're going to use machines, my advice is don't. Just learn how to use free weights now. I also go to LA fitness and they have a very well stocked weight room. Unless you're nursing an injury, machines just aren't the way to go.
  • frood
    frood Posts: 295 Member
    Options