Hi MFP community, newbie here... 1,300 cals

Options
:smile: I just joined this site on Monday and been reading the message board. There's so much great information here and support, and enjoying using the tools. Never thought I would be able to keep a 'food diary' but so far so good, and it's definitely making me more conscious of what I eat so I'm making better food choices.

Is anyone else here on 1,300 calories a day? At first it sounded like heaps--but then I had no understanding of the concept of calories--but now it seems like it's not a lot. I'm tempted to splurge all my calories on one decent sized meal as splitting it over three meals doesn't give me much at each meal and I'm never fully satisfied.

What would you eat on 1,300 calories a day?

TIA

Replies

• Rk25ire
    Options
    Hi definitly wouldn't splurge on one big meal a day! Your body will think it's being starved and then when you do eat it wil hold all of fats etc so it will be harder to lose weight!
    I need help on my foods too I'm a snacker and I need something low cal to keep me going through the day ;)
  • 970Mikaela1
    970Mikaela1 Posts: 2,013 Member
    Options
    My arm eventually. I prefer two bigger meals.
  • ChristineR1990
    Options
    I currently eat 1,000 calories a day, but I'm trying to work my way up to at least 1,200 per day. I just have it in my head that if I eat more than 1,000 I'll never loose fat so I'm trying to work my way up to eat more. BMR is so important though.

I have a feeling that if you only eat 1 big meal a day you'll probably be starving by dinner or tempted to binge eat. Even on 1,000 calories a day I still eat 3 smaller meals and 2 snacks throughout the day to help curb my appetite.