Losing weight on a budget

I'm a student and I don't have much money. I would love to invest in a gym membership, HRM, fresh food every day etc. but unfortunately it's just soooooo expensive. I'm finding that I can't keep it up cooking for myself because by the time I've bought all the ingredients it's over double the cost of buying a ready meal or something like that like I used to. I'd really like a HRM to accurately track my work-out calories when I go for a run, but it looks like all the accurate ones are out of my price range. I would like to go to the gym, but membership is out of my budget.

Has anyone here had success losing weight when you can't afford those fancy things?

Replies

• kommodevaran
    kommodevaran Posts: 17,890 Member
    I don't do fancy. But I do lose weight.
    You don't need a HRM or a gym membership to lose weight. Just go for walks, or run, or both. When you buy food to cook for yourself, you'll buy ingredients for more than just one meal, and home cooked can be more nutritious, so actually you'll be able to save money. Frozen, dried and canned food can be just as good as fresh items, just check the label.
  • arrseegee
    arrseegee Posts: 575 Member
    I think if you can save up some money to properly stock your kitchen with good basic ingredients it doesn't need to be expensive to cook. As a student I made low fat meals with lentils, cans of fish, rice, pasta, frozen veggies and other grains as my staple ingredients. There are websites you can google to find healthy low budget recipes.

Can you walk? Walk. Want to try running? Download a free Couch 25K program and get going with that. Or search the internet for bodyweight exercises and YouTube exercise videos.

A HRM is a luxury item that I think is in a 'nice to have' rather than essential category. Same with a gym membership. Neither of those things makes you exercise, you still have to motivate yourself, so why not just do something free.
  • toddis
    toddis Posts: 941 Member