Need some Yoga advice

Options
I attempted a 30 min beginner (ha!) yoga workout today. I admit, I'm over weight. I'm losing weight. I'm doing cardio or weights or just walking every day. Well this Yoga thing has me a bit stymied.

I've had 4 knee surgeries on my left knew. (2 ACL Replacements, 1 for meniscus and 1 to "clean out the debris"). So one particular pose, Bow Pose, I can NOT, bend and reach that left leg enough to get ahold of it. I'm wondering if I can modify this pose until I (hopefully) get enough range of motion and flexibility to do it properly.
Can I sub using a towel around the ankles?
Will I get better at this? Does it .. progress?

I can use all the help I can get. I'm not to use the treadmill, doctors orders, but I do walk at least 30 minutes everyday. Just no jarring of that knee.

Anyone with any ideas?

-C.

Replies

• lilredhead314
    lilredhead314 Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    I'm not a yoga expert, but most yoga studios have straps for people who can't fully do the moves. If you are working out at home I'd assume a towel would be a good sub. Or you could probably find a yoga strap at TJ Maxx or something.
  • Anonycatgirl
    Anonycatgirl Posts: 502 Member
    Options
    You will get better at this.

While I'm not a yoga expert, I do practice. A towel or something around the ankle might be a good modification...or just skipping that pose for a few sessions until you gain a little more flexibility. Your knees have been through a lot, and one thing you learn if you take a yoga class (as opposed to DVDs) is you should listen to your body and modify or skip poses if you're not ready for them or if they hurt in bad ways, as opposed to a "wow, my muscles are doing new things" gentle ache.
  • yogioats
    yogioats Posts: 33 Member
    Options