Is this a cheat day?

If I eat 6 days healthy clean food about 1500 calories and the 7th day I eat at a restaurant ,or some Chinese but still stay under my maintenance which is 3000 am I cheating ? I would only eat probably 2500 calories at the most which means I'm still 500 deficit. It's just a question I been asking my self since I have been eating clean for 3 months and don't wanna ruin anything. I'm just trying to enjoy my self once a week with some delicious food :)

Starting weight 285lbs
Current weight 238lbs
Goal weight 195 lbs

Replies

• terbusha
    terbusha Posts: 1,483 Member
    That sounds good to me. If you can do this and it is not affecting your weight loss, then go for it. Treats that stay within the goals are a great way to reward yourself for a job well done. I do have a comment though. If you maintain weight at 3000 calories/day, I think that 1500 calories/day is too few calories. If you eat too little, your body (which its main goal is survival) will go into starvation mode and make metabolic adaptations to lower your metabolism. Eventually, this will lead to a plateau. At this point you'll have nowhere to cut from and you'll be stuck. I advise people to eat the absolute most you can while still losing 2-3 lbs/week. This way, if they hit a plateau, I have room in their diet to make adjustments to get the scale moving again. For instance, if you can still lose weight at 2300 calories/day (700 calories under your maintenance), then if you get stuck, we have a lot of room to make adjustments to get you back on track.

Hope this helps, and if you have any questions, please let me know
    Allan