Looking for advice about Martial arts classes

Options
Good morning,
As the title pertains, I'm looking for some advice for taking a Martial Arts class. I'm looking for s style/type that will help me increase flexibility and grace, and possibly loose some weight.

I'm female, and I want to learn discipline and to strengthen my will power. I've tried a Women's Self-Defense class... just taught how to use my knee and how to calculate where the closest phone was. I've also tried a cardio kick boxing class at the YMCA: super fun, but It didn't last long enough for me to really understand the movements. There's a few Dojo's in my town, but most only cater to youth's Karate or after school programs, or are outrageously priced for adults.

So overall, I'm looking for some advice from anyone who practices a Martial arts style, and why they chose that style. Also, please excuse any lack of knowledge regarding the term style, I'm still learning. :) Thanks for any help!

Replies

• m0radell
    m0radell Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    Well, I've done taekwondo for about 12 years now.
    As for increasing flexibility and helping lose weight, it definitely helps. I'm not so sure on the grace part though, first martial art that comes to my mind when I think graceful is Tai Chi.
    Since I've only ever done taekwondo that's the only martial art I can advocate for. Depending on the style you do, it's a wonderful martial art. Definitely helps with the flexibility and can be a very high intensity workout.
    I chose taekwondo over karate when I was a kid because I just thought it was more fun. I've stayed in it because it's extremely satisfying, and keeps me in shape and strong.
    I'm sorry I couldn't be more helpful about other styles! :)
  • jimmmer
    jimmmer Posts: 3,515 Member
    Options
    Most places offer you a free "taster" class.