What exactly is lifting "heavy"

Options
I see this term everywhere and am not sure exactly what it means. What defines "heavy"?
I have been lifting weights for approx 3 months now and the max weights I can lift right now are:

squat - 20kg (44 lb)
deadlift - 30kg (66)
shoulder press - 17.5kg (38.5)
tricep pulldown - 13.5kg (29.7)
bicep curls - 8kg (17.6)
leg press - 100kg (220)

Is this classed as "heavy" or should I push the weights a bit higher to bulk up? I can do 4 sets of 10reps with the final 2 of each set being a struggle and I always try to go the next weight higher for a final set of 5. I am 59kg (129 lb).

At what weight would I start lifting heavy?

Replies

• SJ46
    SJ46 Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    What are your goals and how did you choose your rep range? For strength I would work on sets of 5. The max I would do is 6-8 reps per set with the last rep of each set being difficult to complete.
  • hammycakes
    hammycakes Posts: 388 Member
    Options
    lower reps, higher weights.
    Personally I think it's up to the individual on what heavy is, but you should be sweating and shaky when you are done :)
  • eric_sg61
    eric_sg61 Posts: 2,925 Member
    Options
    Heavy is a weight that you can't push, pull or squat very many times because well, it's heavy
  • SJ46
    SJ46 Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    nm
  • HappyStack
    HappyStack Posts: 802 Member
    Options
    Yeah, it matters if this is your 1-rep max, 3-rep max, or weights you lift for sets across (how many reps and sets you do at this weight)...

Are you counting plate weight alone, or plates & bar weight? (you should always count bar weight, and know what it is... some bars are 15kg, some are 20kg).

When I first started it took me maybe 3 weeks to build up to a 30kg 5x5.

Agreed that "heavy" is subjective, and is based literally on what weight is difficult for you to lift for a low rep range.
  • AllanMisner
    AllanMisner Posts: 4,140 Member
    Options