Got to my goal - but I think I messed up :(

Options
Hello
I've been doing mfp for 2 years & lost 50lbs yay! Problem is I did no excercise to get there. I know I messed up and I'm on the road to skinny fat! I'm 32 years old 5'2 female 120lbs which puts me right in the middle of a healthy weight range & I really don't want to lose any more. I want to keep the curves I have left & don't care if I get any smaller but my thighs and butt are so lumpy & jiggly!

I did the 30ds just to get moving but I know I need to start real strength training so I'm going to get a barbell with some weights to start at home. I'm just confused on how much I should eat now. I know you can't build on a deficit but I do have extra fat in those areas. Is lifting at maintenance totally pointless? Also do you think if I build some muscle I will look better even though there's fat on top?

Right now I'm on mfp recommendation of 1280 cal to lose 1/2 lb per week, eating back half of my excercise cals plus one day a week I'll eat 1800 - 1900. I've been losing the 1/2lb per week.

I appreciate any advice. Thank you!

Replies

• 55romaine
    Options
    I think you should eat at maintenance calories but add extra protein for muscle gain and repair. You will look better with muscle gain leaner and more toned. I hope this helps.
  • glowgirl14
    glowgirl14 Posts: 200 Member
    Options
    Hi..seems like we are in the same skinny fat boat! I am 5'4 120...not quite to goal, but have not exercised much. (Started running in july and loved it. But have stopped this winter.) Looking into strength/resistance programs now. It sucks...feels like I am doing everything twice. :-/
  • aqualeo1
    aqualeo1 Posts: 331 Member
    Options
    I know right! I just didn't know it would make that much of a difference. I assumed if I lost weight I would look awesome!
  • aqualeo1
    Options