Is this okay to start out with?

Options
This is my first time trying to lose weight in a healthy way and I never really exercised much before. I was thinking of just doing the treadmill in two 30 minute sessions, 3 days a week to start out with (working up to 5 days a week) and doing other little stuff like push-ups, crunches and squats a few times a week. Is this not enough or the wrong kind of thing I should be doing? If it helps, I'm 5'4, 142 pounds and looking to lose maybe 30-ish pounds.

Replies

• cpusmc
    cpusmc Posts: 122
    Options
    Nothing wrong with starting there and working up. Choose something you like and will do long term. As you will hear from others, diet is key, exercise helps the process but if the diet piece is broken, all the exercise in the world wont help.... Good luck and stay with it..
  • Quasita
    Quasita Posts: 1,530 Member
    Options
    I will tell you that what you do should be relevant to your current fitness level. If you have been sedentary for a long time, you may need to be a little more modest with your workouts. This sounds like a lot of activity for someone, if they have not been actively exercising before they started.
  • Of_Monsters_and_Meat
    Of_Monsters_and_Meat Posts: 1,022 Member
    Options
    Personally I'd skip the Crunches. maybe planks or chin ups instead.

Also just "Winging" exercise is a good way to just stop doing it.
    Get on a running plan and a body strength plan. (seems what you are looking for) Follow the progression and stick with it.
  • SoreTodayStrongTomorrow222
    Options
    Anything is ok to start out with - Dont work yourself to the point where you give up - but everyone needs to start somewhere.
  • jennifries227
    jennifries227 Posts: 113 Member
    Options
    I agree with Quasita. If you haven't been very active you might want to try 30 minutes once a day for a few days and see how it goes.