calorie counting/working out on vacation?

Options
Spring break is next week (yay!). My family and I are headed skiing - my first time... eek!

So the big question is....do I still watch what I eat/exercise while on vacation? I know everyone is different but I'm on such a roll with this working out/eating healthy thing. I don't want to lose momentum. I know skiing is a form of exercise but since it's my first time, I expect to spend most of the time on my butt or on the ground, lol. :wink: The resort we're staying at has a really nice gym.

So what do y'all do? do you do a little of both? I know there's no right or wrong answer...just looking for ideas/support.

Thanks y'all!

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    I don't log on vacation...never did when I was losing...it's only a few days and they are irrelevant to the greater whole. Enjoy yourself...make reasonably good decisions and practice portion control and moderation.

Also, skiing is a hell of a workout, even if you're on your *kitten* 1/2 the time...as you'll soon find out. I personally wouldn't worry about it.

Any time I've ever been on a vacation, I've been active enough to compensate for whatever I may be overeating...I've never gained weight on a vacation.

Also, it's good practice for portion control, moderation, and intuitive eating...good skills to have in maintenance...I don't track in maintenance because I learned those skills while losing.
  • missabeez
    missabeez Posts: 280 Member
    Options
    We went to Cuba last month and there was no internet so I had no choice. I still lost 3 pounds that week since I was paying attention to my portions.

As cwolf said, skiing burns a ridiculous number of calories so you probably will be okay. Have fun I want to ski!
  • lilawolf
    lilawolf Posts: 1,690 Member
    Options