Birthday Wishes ~My taste if success

Options
SugaryLynx
SugaryLynx Posts: 2,640 Member
My name is Kristin. I'm a self-professed nerd. I started playing games at the age of 3 (Mario to be exact). I've always been on the outside, watching and admiring others. I appreciated life from the standpoint of a spectator. Lived my life as a spazzy, often misunderstood gamer girl. My friends were sometimes embarrassed of me, I was often loud at inappropriate times or took things to heart that didn't need to be. I considered myself a free spirit. Then, high school ended. Most of my friends faded away and I was left to stand alone. I didn't know how to function well without the support of others. Then, I met my husband. He was actually a crush from my freshman year of high school but I never told him.

Fast forward. .. years of falling in love, having kids, falling into a pattern of inactivity, excuses, and partial self loathing. But today, it's my birthday. Today, unlike last year, I'm someone different. I thought I was set in stone before, that after X amount of time, we solidify into the person we'll always be but that was a lie. You're only trapped by the walls you build yourself. Well, this time last year I was 7.5 months pregnant. This time last year I had a tiny dream in my heart of widdling away the years I wasted making every excuse for any failure in my life. The fact is... no one is infallible. Everyone falls. The difference between the successful people and the latter is the ability to understand that we need to get back up... To try again.