What is a decent Stationary Bike Speed?

Options
Hello All,

I have started running last July and been running at least twice a week since then ... I did 2 half marathons so far and registered for my first full marathon in Feb 2015. Considering my performance in the half's I thought I should include some cross training in my workout routine and from last week I started doing Elliptical and Stationary Bike for 2 days and running on the other 2 days.

However I am very new to using Stationary Bike and I am not sure what is considered a decent speed on the bike. Today I did 5 miles in 28:40 min. Which was about 5:45 min/mile. Is that a good speed or am I going too slow?

Are there any tips for cross training for a marathon?

Thank you in advance

~ Sam

Replies

• Lladnaar
    Lladnaar Posts: 6
    Options
    Do you have a HRM? If so just try and get a similar, or slightly lower (many people have a lower max HR cycling vs running), rate to your run training.
  • sjohnny
    sjohnny Posts: 56,142 Member
    Options
    Decent speed for what?

Next time do it in 26:40 and see how much better or worse that is.
  • samonmission
    samonmission Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    I was looking at the HRM of the bike and it was 144 max for biking .. for running it goes up to Max 166 for me

Does that indicate I am doing it at the right speed?
    Do you have a HRM? If so just try and get a similar, or slightly lower (many people have a lower max HR cycling vs running), rate to your run training.
  • Lladnaar
    Lladnaar Posts: 6
    Options
    When I started cycling regularly I was about 15 beats below my running effort; only slightly less than the difference you've stated. These days I'm about even. So it looks like a good start, with room to improve as you get used to the different sport.
  • MB2MN
    MB2MN Posts: 334 Member
    Options