Excellent Article on Recent Low Carb Research

Options
http://www.latimes.com/health/la-he-carbs-20101220,0,5464425.story

I have been doing low carb since October 2009, and lost 135 pounds so far. I feel so healthy, full of energy - my cholesterol has gone down as well as my blood pressure. I really think people should take a look at this, especially if counting calories and low fat is just not working for them. And I am not talking about some fad diet (Atkins, etc)... this is real low carb with science behind it! Check it out.

Replies

• elmct57
    elmct57 Posts: 594 Member
    Options
    agreed--it's doable, edible food and you don't feel deprived in the least. there are so many possibilities :)
  • mltdown
    mltdown Posts: 311 Member
    Options
    I also do low carb - low fat - low sodium and loveee it!! I feel full and it is something I can stick to for life and I don't feel tempted to over eat on things I shouldn't ( like bread) if I don't even have it in my house! I have lost over 100 pounds in 6 months so I think it's something people should consider also. I have had lab work done before I started and just recently and you wouldn't believe the difference! :) good article thanks for sharing !!
  • Pragmatica
    Options
    My food log is open if anyone wants to take a look at what a busy college student eats. It's not that great because of busy Christmas shopping and eating out - but you can see how someone doing low carb deals with those situations.

There are so many low carb resources out there for helping you plan meals, count carbs, low carb recipes, and learning about natural low carb alternatives. I stay away from most of the "low carb" advertised, processed foods except for liquid Splenda to sweeten my low carb treats. I tolerate Splenda well, but there are other options out there like Stevia and such.

Please ask me questions because I know too much about this lifestyle. Haha.
  • chrissym78
    chrissym78 Posts: 628 Member
    Options