Netting under 1000 calories (ketosis)

Options
HI, newbie here:

I was wondering if anyone else was doing a low carb/ high protein diet. I'm having such a hard time fitting in my calories because I'm so full all the time - then, right before bed, I am SO hungry and mindy-lahiri-style zero out my fridge with whatever will fit in my mouth.

I've been trying to drink protein shakes (low or no carbs) as fillers throughout the day, but I'm still netting under 1000 calories. That is NOT okay, and, as a biochemist, I know its wreaking havoc on my metabolic system.

I know adding olive oil is a good start, but I already feel so heavy eating so much protein.

Any suggestions?

*edit* found a keto page, sorry if this is in the wrong area

Replies

• AlabasterVerve
    AlabasterVerve Posts: 3,171 Member
    Options
    Add fat to your meals -- that's where the majority of your calories should be coming from. It won't bulk up your meals or make them difficult to eat in the slightest.
  • jfrice12
    jfrice12 Posts: 16
    Options
    Do you think its better to cut down on the protein a little and eat more fats?
    I know there are certainly more calories in fat, but when I add fat I usually can't finish the meal.

i guess i can start adding olive oil to everything... or sour cream. which is the best ever.

thanks for your suggestion
  • AlabasterVerve
    AlabasterVerve Posts: 3,171 Member
    Options
    If your goal is ketosis, absolutely decrease the protein (still keeping it at adequate levels of course) and up your fat. And I know you found the keto boards so hopefully you'll find some threads that give you an idea of what you should be eating.