Will it work?

Options
Hello everyone.
I just stared counting my calories and eating 1200 diet.
I am currently 148, up from 138 in November.
I'm not sure how I gained the weight but I am a first year teacher and have been eating huge lunches at work and I suspect that has something to do with it.
I don't exercise at all currently. I know if I want to do it I will, but maybe I am not just there yet.

My question is, do you think by simply cutting back my calories, I can lose 10 pounds or maybe a few more? I never exercised before, either.
Also, on the weekends I tend to drink a bottle of rum with friends..I don't know that I can stick to 1200 calories on Friday night.
Please don't lecture me. I know it's not good to drink that much, but I do. :/

Anyhow, just looking for advice, tips, etc, from people who are willing to give it. I have never dieted or counted calories, or anything.

Thanks so much!!!!

Replies

• lolacommander2
    Options
    Hello!

I just started today too. I'm currently 130 up from 115 a year ago. I'm in law school so I know that stress has a large part to do with it but I really think my problem is portion control. I work out pretty regularly (yoga/ pilates) 3-4 times a week. I just can't seem to lose the weight. I quit drinking a few months ago do to a health issue but saw no change in my weight. Hopefully being conscious of how many calories I'm consuming/burning will help!
  • Wandering_1
    Wandering_1 Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    It's only going to work if you really want it to. It not just about losing weight it's about learning how to get & stay healthy. Eat 1500 calories if you want but stay within your macros & exercise too. You will hear people say eat what you want as long as you don't go over your calorie count. Yeah you'll lose weight but it doesn't help your body. Ask yourself why you want to lose the weight & go from there. Good luck.
  • PDXteacherANDmom
    Options