Am I on the right path to losing my belly fat?? Need advice!

Options

Replies

• PJPrimrose
    PJPrimrose Posts: 916 Member
    Options
    Lanky "naturally skinny" chicks don't bulk without roids or an intense 4 hr-a-day training schedule. It's not likely you'll ever bulk and get all crazy muscley.

I started lifting fairly recently. I can deadlift 90lbs, bench press 75, and squat 75. It's not heavy but not light either. I have absolutely no signs of bulking AT ALL. I do intense cardio (kick boxing competitively) three times a week. I lift as heavy as I can, with good form, twice a week. I rest the other 2 days. I maintain my weight at 145 to maintain my weight class in k.boxing.
  • Aaron_K123
    Aaron_K123 Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options
    Someone being worried about getting super bulky and muscular from casual lifting over a period of a month to a year is like a sumo wrestler being afraid that eating some broccoli will cause them to lose 300 pounds of fat.

Both are huge underestimates of the time and discipline commitment that muscle building or fat loss takes. Honestly it is much harder to put on muscle than to lose weight fat and no one does it by accident especially women.

Lifting heavy, especially deadlifts, is how you get that fit flat toned stomach look. Dieting can only take you so far.
  • _KitKat_
    _KitKat_ Posts: 1,066 Member
    Options
    OP, you do really need to check the ladies that lift threads...you will be amazed on the bodies these women have. Also like most said muscle is very hard to put on but for a woman large muscles are near impossible, we do not have anywhere near enough testosterone. Lifting will give you a butt (squats, dead lifts) and make it so parts that shouldn't jiggled don't. You can retain a soft look by making sure to not drop your body fat % too low (not an easy feat getting it very low).
  • LKArgh
    LKArgh Posts: 5,179 Member
    Options