How do you ration your calories?

Options
cbevan
cbevan Posts: 31 Member
So, I'm just getting started again, and wondering how people ration out their calories over the course of the day

Do you try to distribute them evenly, or save for a big dinner?
How much do you use for snacks?
Do you save some calories for wine or beer?

Right now, I'm trying for slow steady weight loss, which means 1500 calories a day for me. I am trying to use about 300 for breakfast, 300 for lunch, 500 for dinner, and that leaves about 400 for snacks, which for me might include a yogurt, 15 - 20 almonds, a cheese stick, or 2 dove dark chocolate promises.

So far, I've told myself that I can have wine as a reward on the days I actually get my butt on the elliptical machine. This does work as a motivator for me, and we're not going to look too far into what that means. ;)

Replies

• tmaksparkie
    Options
    Well this is what I do, I eat 6 meals a day all meals consist of a protein/complex carb(veg)/fat and an occasional fruit. My meals are portioned by using my hand protein and carb are the size of my palm each and about a tsp of fats per meal. I never eat fruit or starchy carbs after 3 pm, I also drink 128oz of water a day I also love coffee but black only. I also work out 3x a week lifting weights and cardio everyday. Also if I eat a fruit it is always eaten with meals 1,2 or 3 never any later unless you workout in the evening. If I am going to put energy(carbs) in my body then I need to use them not go to sleep to have them stored as fat. Best of luck and remember to start slow it helps.
  • bigsal911
    Options
    I do 5 meals a day around 300 calories each. I tried eating less earlier to save for later but I just ended up hungry and eventually going on a binge. Evenly throughout the day I also believe is the best for your metabolism.
  • CarlaAnn15
    CarlaAnn15 Posts: 55 Member
    Options