Help with my calories please :)

Options
Hi, I'm new to MFP and to calorie counting and just need a bit of advice please.

I'm aiming to lose 65lbs and have set my target at a 2lb loss per week.

My daily calories to eat have been set at 1250 and I'm also doing the Insanity workout (have just completed week 3) so burning around 400 calories doing this.

This gives me a total of around 1650 each day, so do I aim to use the full 1650 or just the 1250?!?

Any advice is very welcome, thanku :)

Replies

• AprilJane1522
    Options
    The counter says that you have gained and extra 'x' . I think, as long as your counter isn't red your in the clear.
  • terbusha
    terbusha Posts: 1,483 Member
    Options
    What I do and what I recommend to people is to eat at a calorie level that allows you to drop 1-2 lbs/week. This assumes an average calorie burn from you getting in all of your workouts. This will be different for everyone, so you'll have to do some trial and error to figure it out. I'd start ~1600 cal/day. Hit this goal, along with your macros and getting in your workouts, for a week. If you lose 1-2 lbs, you're good to go. If you lose too much, increase your intake and repeat. If you don't lose enough, reduce your intake a bit and repeat. After a few weeks, you'll figure out what works for you in your situation.

Allan
  • missiontofitness
    missiontofitness Posts: 4,074 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm new to MFP and to calorie counting and just need a bit of advice please.

I'm aiming to lose 65lbs and have set my target at a 2lb loss per week.

My daily calories to eat have been set at 1250 and I'm also doing the Insanity workout (have just completed week 3) so burning around 400 calories doing this.

This gives me a total of around 1650 each day, so do I aim to use the full 1650 or just the 1250?!?

Any advice is very welcome, thanku :)

I would advise you to set your loss lower per week.

Here is a helpful chart that makes its way around these boards: