Eating under my bmr but is it okay?

Options
I'm still a newbie and my question concerns my calorie intake. I've started reducing my caloric intake about 5 or 6 weeks ago and so far I have lost about 17 pounds. I have been under medical supervision because of my high weight. When I started, I found out what my bmr is and I read up on how people incorporate it into how much they're eating. I'm still working on transitioning to the most nutritious foods (made some really good changes but still have some things I need to cut back on or replace completely) but so far I've been able to lose weight by the calorie reduction in itself. I've also started walking 30 min a day as suggested by my doctor. My BMR is roughly around 2700 calories (just to function). For me, I've been consuming 3 regular meals a day (not much of a snack person) and have started 6 weeks ago at around 1500 calories a day. Knowing that I should be eating at least my bmr and more if I'm doing a lot of exercise, I'm still only eating roughly 1800-2000 calories a day but feeling comfortable at that.
Should I increase my calorie intake? I know if I do it will slow down the weight loss because I'm not really at the point where I feel comfortable doing more than 30 minutes of walking yet.

Replies

• WalkingAlong
    WalkingAlong Posts: 4,926 Member
    Options
    Have you asked your doctor?

How fast are you losing? I'm in the camp that believes 2 lbs. or 1% of your weight per week is a safe rate, regardless of calorie level (above 1200) IF you feel fine and the calorie level doesn't make you want to quit the plan.

Good luck!
  • Fayve
    Fayve Posts: 411 Member
    Options
    2700 sounds like your TDEE, not your BMR.

Being under medical supervision is a good idea. I would try not to go below 2000 with your weight, but your doctor likely knows best in this case. Good luck :)
  • devil_in_a_blue_dress
    devil_in_a_blue_dress Posts: 5,214 Member
    Options