Starting weight training...

Options
Hi everyone, I've been using MFP on and off since 2012. I am roughly at the size I want to be but continuously give up because I can't tone the stubborn fat around my midsection.

From talking to others and doing general research I've decided to start weight training. I'm ready to start Alwyn's workout from The New Rules of Lifting for Women...

Anyone who's done the workout or just interested in following my progress feel free to add me as a friend :smile:

Any extra support would be fantastic :heart:

Replies

• jtm4210
    jtm4210 Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    I've just bought the book, so I'll be starting it too. I plan to keep running 3-4 days a week though, so hopefully I won't be too tired and sore!

Good luck!
  • mockchoc
    mockchoc Posts: 6,573 Member
    Options
    Hi. Replies on your newsfeed since we are friends. I want to do similar.
  • julia2178
    julia2178 Posts: 5
    Options
    Try High Intensity Interval Training to help lose the belly fat. For ex: sprint on treadmill or outside for 30 sec then walk or jog for 1min repeat 5-7 times.
  • julia2178
    julia2178 Posts: 5
    Options
    Weight training will help but you have to burn the fat thats over the muscles
  • ew_david
    ew_david Posts: 3,473 Member
    Options
    I liked New Rules for the into but I found the program a bit convoluted. I liked Starting Strength and/or Stronglifts programs better for just starting out.
  • ew_david
    ew_david Posts: 3,473 Member
    Options

<---- I hardly did any cardio to get that abdomen.

Eating at a deficit and lifting "melts fat" too.
  • tierra85
    tierra85 Posts: 300 Member
    Options

<---- I hardly did any cardio to get that abdomen.

Eating at a deficit and lifting "melts fat" too.

That's what i was hoping for! I love yoga, and don't mind light exercise, but i despise excessive cardio. I'm at 125lbs and i still have handfuls of fat on my belly :( Hmm I'll see how 120lbs looks
  • psych101