Is there any theory/science behind loosing inches?

Options
Hiya, i'm looking to loose ~3 inches all around and i'm wondering if theres any theory or science to it? I know that to loose weight, eat less than your TDEE, to gain eat more, a pound is 3500 calories so eat less than than in a week = 1 lb down a week etc etc etc.

but i'm wondering if theres any theory or science to fitness specifically loosing inches other than just do cardio. Is there, ex. how many calories you have to burn to lose 1/2 inch, how many minutes of cardio do you do, can weight lifting do anything about it? Do you have to loose only fat to loose inches or would you have to loose some muscle as well? corset waist training? etc etc etc

Sorry if it's a dumb question but i'm new to this and hoping to get some guidance.

Thank you x

Replies

• Aaron_K123
    Aaron_K123 Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options
    Not a dumb question but I can't imagine there is a real answer to that.

You lose inches when you lose fat, but you cannot spot reduce and where people lose fat is very much dependent on their bodytype. Also how much fat you have to lose an inch is very dependent on your percent bodyfat, how obese you are and your overall size.

So considering all the variables there really isn't a "X inches = Y pounds of fat" formula that you can just apply.
  • sylviedroz
    sylviedroz Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    agh right, i'm starting out at 32-28-38, and 22% body fat. not sure if thats really high for a female. but i've got another 10-15lbs to loose and i'm wondering if theres anything extra i should or could be doing to sort it out. thank you though!
  • editorgrrl
    editorgrrl Posts: 7,060 Member
    Options
    There's no way to predict where you will lose weight. It's entirely determined by genetics. You can't spot reduce.

For good, basic information, read this: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1080242-a-guide-to-get-you-started-on-your-path-to-sexypants
  • WalkingAlong