Am I ready to sign up for a trail run?

Options
Hello lovelies!

I recently completed a 5k training program and now absolutely adore running. I particularly love running through forests as the scenery is gorgeous and my dog loves it!

My question is: There's a trail run happening in the mountain ranges half an hour from where I live on August 17th, and I would love to participate in it, except the smallest trail is 7.3km. Is this an idealistic goal for me, or should I not go for it till I can comfortably run that far? There's another race happening an hour away from my home on September 14th which is 7.6km... would it be more realistic to give myself another month to train?

Ps. I've never done any sort of public race before, so I could start with doing a 5km public one... or should I do those as part of my training for the trail one?

Thanks for your help in advance, and feel free to add me!

Replies

• kjm_723
    kjm_723 Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    I say sign up for the one that looks the most interesting. Even if you can't run the whole thing yet, because there's no shame in walk breaks! But two months is plenty of time to train especially if you're really motivated for the race. And it wouldn't hurt to get an official 5k in before that, finishing it will motivate you even further! You can do it :)
  • bobbijodmb
    bobbijodmb Posts: 463 Member
    Options
    I think you could sign up for either and be ready. Trail running is fun but depending on the trails kind of hilly, so make sure to work hills into your runs!
  • lalamoose64
    lalamoose64 Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    You can always walk/run. The hard part is not to get caught up in everyone else's goal. Keep your goal in focus...You must live in a cool place!
  • hermann341
    hermann341 Posts: 443 Member
    Options