I have to start somewhere I guess...Newbie

Options
I am pretty new to this and am trying not to be so hard on myself when I over eat or have cravings. I have been logging onto MFP for 13 days straight to really track my food no matter what I ate or how much I ate. I have been measuring (with cups, just bought a food scale which should be here soon) and just trying to make general better choices. I am drinking tons of water and taking my vitamins, not focusing on being perfect or some health guru, but just generally being a better me. I'm trying to make this a lifestyle change and just taking it very slow.
I'm 28, 5'9 and currently weigh 244, I started at 250 so I am down about 6 pounds (about 4.8 this month) so I am losing slow but its still something. The question I keep having though is "is my slow progress too slow with someone who has so much weight to lose?" I feel like everyone else who has loads of weight to lose talks about how quickly and how much weight they lost in the beginning. Is it okay to take it slower or should I really be upset I haven't lost more? Just wanted to see what everyone thought.

Also looking for some supportive friends to help keep me on this journey. :smile:

Replies

• lukewind
    lukewind Posts: 177 Member
    Options
    4.8 pounds is nothing sneeze at when it comes to losing weight. I still have 190lbs to lose and I usually lose around 10-12 pounds a month, but as a man it is easier for me, not fair I know. At your current rate you are doing just fine. There will be times when the weight loss stalls for a while and you will feel unmotivated, but just remember to keep going and eventually your body will catch up.

Go pick up a 5 pound weight and then see if you still think 5lbs in a month is slow. 5lbs is a lot more then you would think.
  • yopeeps025
    yopeeps025 Posts: 8,680 Member
    Options
    Here is a great guideline for setting weekly weight loss goals:
    If you have 75+ lbs to lose 2 lbs/week is ideal,