Why am I so stuck?

Options
I have been making slow, steady progress for the last 7 months, losing about 2 pounds per month. However, for these last 6-8 weeks it seems like it all stopped. I haven't lost any weight, my waist measurement is the same; on the plus side, I do have less body fat% than in the last 3 months...but it seems like these past few weeks everything is the same. I keep working out a lot (6x a week), eating my 1500 calories, even the very few days when I go out to eat I'm still very careful about what I choose. What is happening? I had a week at the beginning of May where I traveled and wasn't careful with my food, but that was it...that shouldn't have set me back all this time. But that's around the time that my weight and measurement just got stuck :(

FYI - Yes measuring/weighing everything. I don't log it here, but I do log it in a spreadsheet and I also log in my exercises every day.

Replies

• PunkyDucky
    PunkyDucky Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    Hmm, could be two things:

1) Could either be water retention from the workouts/lifting (if you're doing heavy lifts)--i've been holding onto water for the past 6 weeks due to my lifting
    OR

2) You're eating at maintenance

*It's really hard to give you a clear solution to your problem without seeing your food journal.
  • sleepytexan
    sleepytexan Posts: 3,138 Member
    Options
    Have you tried TDEE - 20%? It's a very accurate way to calculate calories, and works very well for people who have a regular predictable activity level.

Basically you will factor in your average activity level in advance, and get a number of calories to eat DAILY regardless of working out. You don't need to add exercise calories back in. Eat the same whether you ran 15 miles or sat on the couch bc it balances out. Believe it or not, if you are a hard-core exerciser, eating too few calories will slow down your weight loss. It can also make you really tired and more prone to injury.

Give it a shot and see.