What percent Carbs/Fats/Protein should we aim for?

Options
2»

Replies

• ladymiseryali
    ladymiseryali Posts: 2,555 Member
    Options
    Depends on what you're doing. If you're just following a standard eating plan, then 40/30/30 is probably good. However, if you're following something like keto or low carb, your macros should be 5/75/25. So it really depends on how you're eating. I eat keto, so my macros are the example I provided.
  • navygrrl
    navygrrl Posts: 517 Member
    Options
    I keep changing mine because I really don't know what i'm doing :laugh: I basically, just try to eat at a deficit, i'm not too good with the macro thing lol

This is pretty much what I end up doing as well, LOL. I just switched to 40C/30P/30F, with an emphasis on trying to meet my protein goals. I found that I'm stalling out on my strength gains, so I thought that perhaps adding more protein would help with that.
  • danofthedead1979
    danofthedead1979 Posts: 362 Member
    Options
    whatever you choose, remember you still need to enjoy food, i tried to go protein heavy at first believing this would help me lose more weight quicker, but got fed-up with the restrictions. if you are trying to lose weight, i would worry more about how many calories than what specific macros make up those calories. you cant go wrong with a balance of carbs/protein/fats, i wouldnt fret too much about sticking to a rigid macro formula. a calorie is a calorie.
  • niknokd
    niknokd Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    MFP's default settings tend to be higher carb/lower protein than a lot of people prefer. I do 45C/25P/30F but I usually go over my goal on protein! :)
  • Eleonora91
    Eleonora91 Posts: 688 Member
    Options
    Mine has always been 50% carbs, 20% protein, 30% fats
    I tried to increase my protein intake to 25% but it didn't last long, so I recently got back to 20%.