yoga instead of the gym?

Options
2»

Replies

• Aaron_K123
    Aaron_K123 Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert but I would assume that yoga is the sort of "weight training" that will help you maintain your muscle and strengthen it but it is NOT the kind of "weight training" that would make your muscles grow in size. Not knowing what your goals are exactly not sure how to answer the question of if yoga is a proper substitute for what you were doing.

I do yoga, I like yoga...I think its great for flexibility, balance and core strength. I don't think its a muscle hypertrophy program that is going to allow me to increase my muscle mass but I think its an important part of my fitness.
  • MrTolerable
    MrTolerable Posts: 1,593 Member
    Options
    lol, I didn't even realize there was such a strenuous Yoga technique - the Yoga I do twice a day is just really really relaxing stretches to get my muscles loosened up for a real workout. - this is cool and gives me more things to research.
  • Aaron_K123
    Aaron_K123 Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options
    lol, I didn't even realize there was such a strenuous Yoga technique - the Yoga I do twice a day is just really really relaxing stretches to get my muscles loosened up for a real workout. - this is cool and gives me more things to research.

chaturanga man, just hold that pose and try to run by bringing your feet to the side and your knees up rapid fire. Or just go from downward dog to plank to chauranga to upward dog a bunch of times...mix in things like side-planks. or balance postures like half-moon. Will get those shoulders and legs burning pretty quick.

Yoga I do has me dripping sweat after 30 minutes of it in a cool room. I'll admit I don't get the point of doing yoga in a hot room if you are going to do a bunch of power moves which are going to get you plenty hot as is. Unless I am missing something a sauna is a good place to take a nap or stretch not a good place for an intense workout.