Amenorrhea - help!!

Options
My story... I Was training for a half marathon (between the age of 15-23 I was always around 54kg) eating and body image never crossed my mind. I was a witness to a car accident when I was training and completed first aid on the lady who was hit by the car. She died in my arms and I was forced to run 16km home covered in blood. I was traumatised and never stopped running after that day. Within 6 weeks I was down from 54kg to 44kg. It was the I realised I had a problem. I almost ran myself to death and stopped eating.
At my lowest I was 43kg and was hospitalised by choice. I was in hospital for 4 weeks and put on 5kg. I was released at 48kg and was able to put on another 15kg with the help of my amazing husband to get back at 54-55kg. I held the weight, didn't exercise (and I am a physical education teacher so only exercised when I was teaching) I got back into short bike rides and it took 3 years for me to run again - I still have nightmares to this day about the accident.
The last 9 moths I have been on a slow but steady down hill, loosing weight because I am struggling to eat during the day. All of the bad habits and thoughts slowly return. I'm scared now because I went off the pill in December 2013 ( my last period was 20th oct) and now - 21st June, 7 months later I haven't had a period! When I was at my lowest weight and losing weight before I was on the pill so was still having my period. Now nothing! I am trying to put on weight, having protein shakes and eating more at night when I can eat. I know I need to force myself to be strong and eat during the day and I really want to have kids in the next year or two. I'm so scared with what's going on wig my body. I'm not exercising any extra apart from work.

Has anyone else come off the pill only to realise they aren't getting their period and what weight were you when it returned?

Replies

• TheLittleFangs
    TheLittleFangs Posts: 205 Member
    Options