Diet soda, yay or nay

Options

Replies

• laserturkey
    laserturkey Posts: 1,680 Member
    Options
    If it's Diet Dr. Pepper, then I say. "Yay!" and "Yea!"

Check my ticker. Has a Diet Dr. Pepper a day kept me from losing weight?
  • clambert1273
    clambert1273 Posts: 840 Member
    Options
    drinks the diet coke... :bigsmile:
  • segwayne
    segwayne Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    All things in moderation as they say, but the prevailing theory is that even if a diet soda doesn't have calories or sugar, it sort of "tricks" your metabolism into thinking that it's getting sugar, so your body's natural tendency to burn fat doesn't kick in like it should.

I'm not a scientist. I couldn't make heads or tails of any given data on the subject, but that's what I understand from what I've read on the subject.

That being said, I can offer this as my personal observation.

I underwent Weight Loss Surgery a couple of months ago. I haven't had a soda in nearly 3 months now. What I have noticed for myself is that I tend to lose more weight every week drinking plain water than I do drinking sugar-free Kool-Aid...

Real, imaginary, or just coincidental, I can't say, but I find drinking plain water almost intolerable, so I'll stick with what gets me through.

It's *so* weird for me now to have gone from a massive diet soda addict pre-surgery (I owned 4 soda makers, 2 different brands) to a guy who hasn't had, and doesn't really miss soda at all.

Wayne
  • MelodyandBarbells
    MelodyandBarbells Posts: 7,725 Member
    Options
    Yay. The Diet Dew has helped with the gym as I drink it on my way to workout due to its copious amounts of caffeine. My drive is fairly long

Other than that I keep diet crush and diet ginger ale in the house and also use water enhancers and those drink mixes in a pouch. The only times I drink straight up water would be when working out
  • janatarnhem
    janatarnhem Posts: 669 Member
    Options