Turning Back The Clock...More Than 50 Years.

Hanfordrose
Hanfordrose Posts: 688 Member
Today...after a lifetime of obesity, I weigh 162.4 pounds. Yes, that is still obese for a 5' 4" woman; but it sure beats 290 pounds which was my approximate weight in the spring of 2012.

In June of 1962, I graduated from Hilltop High School at age 17 and weighed a 'not so healthy' 185 pounds. I had always been the chubby girl. I had gone from 97 pounds in the 6th grade to 155 pounds in the 7th grade, by spending all my babysitting money on candy. I ate candy all day long. I filled my purse in the morning at a store on the way to school and refilled my purse at the same store on the way home.

I was a secretive eater; so, my skinny mom never could understand my sudden burst of pubescent weight. She thought that I was either hormonal weight gain, or I was just showing my dad's family tendency to be heavy. 12 to 24 chocolate bars per day have nothing to do with puberty or genetics. I was an candy addict.

In 1964, I decided to lose weight to join the Navy. The goal was 135 or less; and I had never dieted in my life. So, I made a plan which had nothing to do with calorie counting or doctors. For a year and a half, I lived on radishes, watermelon and diet sodas. That's right...nothing else.

On the day that I was sworn into the Navy, I weighed 134 pounds and was dangerously ill. I fainted in the galley, when I smelled real food for the first time in months. When I woke up, I was in the hospital; and the doctor asked, if I was pregnant. "No!" Then, he found out that I had only eaten a handful of radishes each day for the past month, in my desperation to meet the requirements to join the Navy. He authorized me to gain 5 pounds over the Navy maximum weight for my height.