Weight Gain During Menstrual Cycle

Options
Hello all,

I'm new to My Fitness Pal, and wanted to share my back story.

All my life I've struggled with being overweight, but recently I decided to be more active and treat my body better. So I've cut out all my favorite full fat sodas, pizzas, pastas in favor for water, green tea, oven roasted chicken and veggie dinners.

So far in the past four weeks I've managed to lose 4 kgs (almost 9lbs) which I am happy about.

However last week my weight started to creep up even though I have been maintaining my diet and exercise regime. This past sunday I started my period and I my weight was up a full 2 kgs (4.4lbs) which has been discouraging as I have been drinking at least 2 liters of water everyday to prevent any water retention.

I'm now on day 4 of my period and my weight is still up 1.5 kgs (3.3lbs).

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Any comments would be appreciated!!!

Replies

• editorgrrl
    editorgrrl Posts: 7,060 Member
    Options
    Weight loss is not linear. So take measurements & photos, too.

Read this: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1080242-a-guide-to-get-you-started-on-your-path-to-Sexypants
  • crimsontech
    crimsontech Posts: 234 Member
    Options
    I gain 5 pounds during my period and lose it again in the last few days. Totally normal. Keep doing what you're doing!
  • yosassi
    yosassi Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    Oh girl.

I'm going through this right now for the third month in a row. I also worried about it. Luckily, when my period was over, I not only dropped all the weight, but lost more as if the blip never happened. I think it just hits some of us harder. Hopefully, once you're done you'll be even lighter than when you started! It is just part of the cycle.

Let me know! If not, then we'll have to brainstorm other solutions.
  • itsbasschick
    itsbasschick Posts: 1,584 Member
    Options