band camp food dilema

Options
So, I am a college student and I am in the band (nerdy, I know). Band camp is fastly approaching and I'm excited about that. I'm not excited, however because basically the only option for food is eating at fast food restaurants.. that'll be 3 meals/day at fast food.

bleck.

Anyway, are there any suggestions anyone may have about what I can pack to bring?

--I will not have access to a microwave or refrigerator during the day, but have one in my dorm. It will also most likely be very hot outside.

Thanks in advance!!

Replies

• utekeathley
    utekeathley Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Of course any fresh fruit or veggie would be great! Dry cereals ( just watch for the sugar)! Cheese sticks , hardboiled eggs and Joghurt will be ok for a little while in a cooler! Even salads in a mason jar, just google it, are great!

Have fun at bandcamp!!
  • r5d5
    r5d5 Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    If you'll have your fridge in your dorm, you might want to pack a bag of carrots or celery. Apples, yogurt, pears, things like that might good. It would be ideal if you had access to a store so you could replenish your snacks. As for meals out, try to make as healthy of choices as you can. If you have to get a hamburger, get a small one, or get two burgers, but DON'T eat the buns and fries. Most fast food chains have fruit on the kids menu (little baggies of apples or whatever). McDonald's has salads, but be smart about the kind you get. Get grilled chicken instead of crispy, and get vinegar as your dressing not something creamy like ranch or Caesar. If you can, try to eat out at a subway or other sandwich shop where you can load up on veggies.
    Other snacks for your room could be popcorn, special K cracker chips, instant oatmeal, cereals, or some canned soups aren't too bad.