How long does it take you to run a mile?

Options
123457»

Replies

• xcalygrl
    xcalygrl Posts: 1,897 Member
    Options
    It depends on the person.

My best 1 mile time is 7:17.
    My best 5k time is 25:17 with 7:46 being the fastest mile on that run.
    If i run longer distances, my miles are a bit slower (8:30-9:30 per mile).
  • Codester1023
    Options
    I ran my PR earlier today in 7:47.5

When I started training back on April 17th, my first mile time was 13:31. I could not even complete a full lap of running/jogging. I had to slow down to a light walk repeatedly and often ran out of breath. This coming from a, at the time, skinny young man (skinny does not always equal fit). Today if I really pushed it, I likely could have come to or near 7:30. Granted, I'm 22 years old, but still.

If anyone is looking for advice, I would say form a program, commit to it, and record your results. I run 3 days a week on M/W/F and often run in the morning and at night on those days. I started only running at night. It is cooler and I generally don't have to share the track. Then when I grew more comfortable I started incorporating a run in the morning while also increasing my distance at night. I now am up to 2.25 miles at night in ~20mins which isn't bad but isn't great. Always trying to improve every week.

I also weight lift 3 times a week Tu/Th/Sa which helps facilitate the process in my opinion.

My mile goal is to break 7 flat then move on to 1.5 mile and get that to 10 flat or less.
  • RodneyAshley
    Options
    Each individual is different, so it primarily depends on both physical and mental strengths and weaknesses of a person. Body weight, age or physical condition, running technique are just some of the major factors that can affect the running speed of a person.

At my best I did a 8 minute mile!
  • JazzFischer1989
    JazzFischer1989 Posts: 531 Member
    Options
    My best was a 10.5 min mile I ran yesterday but I usually average around 11-12 mins.