Help! 35 yrs old. Quit smoking + gained 30 lbs. need support

I first signed up to MFP a few years ago to help lose a few extra lbs for my 10 year wedding anniversary. This website helped so much, I lost the weight and stayed on track with my fitness for a long time afterwards. I was able to maintain my ideal weight with an alternate day diet. (One day I ate whatever I wanted, the other day only healthy low-calorie meals) My metabolism felt like it was on track and I was the ideal weight.

I was a smoker then. I had been smoking cigarettes for 16 years. 7 months ago I quit smoking and everything changed.

My friend who had quit smoking a year before me warned me that I would probably gain some weight. She gained a great deal of weight when she quit. She told me that her diet had not changed but I secretly didn’t believe her. I thought she was substituting food for cigarettes. Maybe sneaking in some cake and brownies here and there late at night. Maybe she was ashamed to admit it and it wasn’t my business to pry.

I was determined to NOT to gain weight like she did when I quit. I quit cold turkey and didn’t use any nicotine replacement tools (no Gum, patch or inhalers) The first month was so hard. Fatigue, congestion, stomach issues, and mood swings. I avoided the temptation to eat junk food. I snacked on celery sticks and carrots with fat free ranch sauce. I worked out at least 3 times a week and walked home from work every afternoon. I was proud of my healthy eating.