Week Long Camping Trip... Help!

Options
I was getting everything organized for our end-of-summer camping trip (next month) and realized (when I was organizing the grocery list) I don't know what kind of food would be good to bring! In the past we've done tons of hotdogs and burgers, but those were only 2 day trips. This year we're going for 8 days. Plus I don't want a ton of bread and salt every day. What can I get to keep my family full that isn't going to be too unhealthy?! I've never done this before.

Replies

• MBAndrews723
    Options
    I love grilled chicken and then when you pull it off the grill top it with salsa instead of bbq sauce.
  • sensitivefool
    sensitivefool Posts: 343 Member
    Options
    I should add we cook in cast iron over the fire. No grill. :(
  • ZombieMom79
    ZombieMom79 Posts: 70 Member
    Options
    You need to go get a cheap cooling rack at the dollar store and cook on that over the fire as well. With camping I just pack the foods I eat at home but get them ready ahead of time. Marinate meat, cut up veggies. I camp all summer long, 3-8 nights at a time and find it is possible, you just need to plan.

I never understood why people thing eating while camping is any different than home. I think camping is associated with junk food so that is all people bring.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    I camp all the time and eat pretty much what I eat at home...anything I can throw on the grill, not just hotdogs and burgers. Veggie sides, potatoes, rice, pasta, etc. eggs and bacon for breakfast...since it's a longer trip, maybe bring some oatmeal and/or yogurts and such to mix it up....fruit for snacking, etc.
    I should add we cook in cast iron over the fire. No grill. :(

invest in one. they make ones you can put over the fire. the little propane ones are pretty cheap to boot.
  • sensitivefool
    sensitivefool Posts: 343 Member
    Options